Home > Scientific Committee > Scientific Committee Profile

Scientific Committee

Xiangdong Yao


Sun Yat-Sen University



Xiangdong Yao is a National Expert Professor for Energy Materials/Catalysis and the Founding Dean of School of Advanced Energy at Sun Yat-Sen University, China. He obtained his BEng at Northeastern University in 1989 and MEng at Northwestern Polytechnical University in 1992 respectively for Materials Science and Engineering. From 1992 to 2000, he was employed in Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences as Research Associate (1992), Assistant Professor (1995) and Associate Professor (1998). In 2000, he came to The University of Queensland, Australia where he was granted the PhD degree in Materials Engineering in 2005, working on the computational modeling for microstructure formation in light metals. From November 2003, he joined the ARC Centre of Excellence for Functional Nanomaterials at The University of Queensland. Since November 2009, he relocated at Griffith University, Australia as an Associate Professor and the group leader of Advanced Energy Materials, and promoted to full Professor in late 2012. He joined Sun Yat-Sen University in mid-2022. Dr Yao’s current research focuses on Energy Materials and technology, especially the hydrogen energy and catalysis.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter